*** PUBLIC NOTICE: Effective Monday, May 18th, 2020, the Probate Court will require all marriage license applicants to fill out the online application below. Once you have completed the online application, please call the Probate Court office at 770-267-1345 to set up an appointment, as an appointment is required to complete the application process. Appointments will be made from 9am until 3:30pm upon availability. Thank you. ***
*** PUBLIC NOTICE: Effective Monday, May 18th, 2020, the Probate Court will issue marriage license to applicants who are getting married prior to June 12, 2020. Proof of proposed marriage date must be provided at the time of your appointment by submitting a Letter from the Officiant and/or a Wedding Announcement. Thank you. ***
*** PUBLIC NOTICE: During the Judicial Order period, the Probate Court will only be providing marriage licenses to Walton County residents. We apologize for any inconvenience. Thank you. ***
Applying for a Marriage License
Applications are not accepted after 4:30 p.m. Please arrive no later than 4 p.m. to allow time for processing.
You will save time when you come to apply by completing the Marriage License Application online. Once this is done and you have submitted the application, you will receive a confirmation number. You should print out or write down the confirmation and bring it with you when you come to apply.
If either applicant is a resident of the State of Georgia, the marriage license may be obtained from the Probate Court in any county in the State. It is not required that the license be obtained from the county of the legal residence of either applicant. If neither applicant is a resident of the State of Georgia, the license must be obtained from the Probate Court in the county in which the ceremony is to be performed. Blood Tests: As of July 1, 2003, premarital blood tests are no longer required under Georgia law.
Proof of Age
Effective July 1, 2019, all applicants must present documented proof of age before a license can be issued.
Acceptable documents include:
- Alien papers
- Armed forces discharge papers
- Armed forces identification card
- Baptismal certificate
- Birth certificate
- Certificate of birth registration
- Citizenship papers
- Court record
- Driver’s license
- Hospital admission card containing the full name and date of birth
- Immigration papers
- Selective service card
Effective July 1, 2019, no one under the age of 17 years of age shall be issued a marriage license in the State of Georgia for any reason, as the law no longer accepts parental consent. Applicants who are 17 years of age may be issued a marriage license only if all of the following requirements are met:
- A Petition is granted in Juvenile Court for Emancipation and a certified copy of such Order is presented at the time of application, in which 15 days will have passed since the date of the Order granting Emancipation.
- The older party to the marriage is no more than 4 years older than the younger party.
- Both applicants shall complete Premarital Education. Said education can only be completed by a professional counselor, social worker or marriage and family therapist who is licensed.
Proof of Dissolution Of Prior Marriage
If either applicant has been previously married and the marriage was dissolved by divorce or annulment, a copy of the decree of divorce or annulment must be presented at the time of application. (Applicants who have been married and divorced more than once need only provide a certified copy of the decree dissolving the last previous marriage.)
If either applicant has been previously married and the marriage was resolved due to death of a spouse, a certified copy of a death certificate must be presented at the time of application.
The fee for a marriage license is $66, as this fee includes one marriage certificate which will be given upon the filing of the completed marriage license. However, with the Pre-Marital Counseling Form (PDF), which may be obtained from the Probate Court, the fee is $26, as this fee also includes one marriage certificate. Additional copies of marriage certificates are $10 each. Exact cash, money order, cashier’s check, Visa or Mastercard. No personal checks. A convenience fee will apply to card payments.
Request Copy of Marriage Certificate Online
Please visit Fee Pay Online to request a copy of a marriage certificate. Cost of each certificate is $10, plus convenience fee. Please verify online at Georgiaprobaterecords.com or call the Court at 770-267-1345 to verify the marriage record before placing your order. The certificate fee is nonrefundable.
The Judge of the Probate Court does not perform weddings.